Names of police officers who assaulted a student have been released


The National Police Service Commission (NPSC) has released names of three of the four police officers caught on camera assaulting a student during the JKUAT protests.

The three are police constables George Wathania, Kibet Chemipei and Boniface Muthama.

Addressing the media, National Police Service Commission Chairman Eliud Kinuthia said the fourth officer was yet to be identified.

“The identification of the 4th police officer is delaying because, it’s a process, and the angle of the image on what is happening needs assurance and should be right,” said Kinuthia.

The three police officers who have been identified have since been interdicted to allow for investigations before further disciplinary action is taken against them.

“It is not yet set on which date or how long the investigation will take,” added Kinuthia.