Cabinet Secretaries, PSs, CASs granted 11-day recess by President Kenyatta


Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries and Chief Administrative Secretaries (CASs) have been granted an 11-day cabinet working recess by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

During the recess period that commenced on August 17 to August 28, 2020, Cabinet committees  will not have any scheduled engagements unless directed by President Kenyatta for urgent business, cases of national emergency or any other exceptional circumstances.

In a memo dated August 12, 2020 penned by Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua and addressed to all CSs, CASs, PSs and the Attorney General, cabinet members will be expected to conduct working tours, site visits and field engagements with members of the public in relation to ongoing development projects and government programmes.

“…during the working recess, members of the cabinet will still be required to undertake their ministerial portfolio responsibilities and attend to any presidential engagements arising from or ancillary to their ministerial mandate…” said Kinyua in the memo.

At the lapse of the 11-day Cabinet recess, the National Development Implementation and Communication Cabinet Committee, chaired by Interior CS Dr. Fred Matiang’i, will meet for the 27th time on September 1, 2020.