Kalonzo, Karua among 22 others conferred rank of Senior Counsel


President Uhuru Kenyatta Monday conferred  24 lawyers the rank of senior counsel, among them former vice president Kalonzo Musyoka and  Martha Karua.

Others honoured include former Director of Public Prosecution Philip Murgor, deputy DPP Dorcas Oduor, Central Bank of Kenya board chairman Mohamed Nyaoga, ex-President Kenyatta’s constitutional advisor Abdikadir Mohamed and Rarieda MP Otiende Amollo.

Also in the list were  lawyer Judy Thongori; former chief executive of the Kenya National Human Rights Commission (KNHRC) Patricia Nyaundi; Wilfred Nderitu, who is remembered for having represented victims at the International Criminal Court (ICC) in the case against Deputy President William Ruto; and veteran lawyers Fred Ngatia and Waweru Gatonye.

Also joining the exclusive club were lawyer Kioko Kilukumi, renowned arbitrator John Ohaga, Rautta Athiambo, veteran lawyer Prof Albert Mumma, Pravin Bowry, the former Assistant Director (Legal Services) of the Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission (KACC), John Chigiti, as well as Pakash Nagpal, Fackson Kagwe, Beautah Siganga, Kiragu Kimani, Taib Ali Taib, and Zehrabanu Janmohamed.

State House Spokesperson Kanze Dena-Mararo noted in a statement  explained: “The rank of senior counsel is conferred in accordance with the recommendation of the Committee on Senior Counsel, to the Advocates of the High Courts of Kenya, who have distinguished themselves by rendering exemplary service in the legal and public service arena.”

Kenya now has 48 Senior Counsels including the newly conferred as listed by the LSK website