Female Governors Denied Leadership Positions In The CoG?


The only two female governors, Anne Waiguru and her Kitui counterpart Charity Ngilu are not anywhere to be seen on the council of governors leadership.

The Oparanya led council constitutes of male governors across the leadership positions.

Wycliffe Oparanya of Kakamega county retained his spot as the council head with Mwangi Wa Iria of Muranga and Kivutha Kibwana of Makueni being his deputies.

The council has been f criticized for not considering the only two female governors in the country.


Charity Ngilu, Anne Waiguru and the late Joyce Laboso made history as the first elected female governors.